Saturday, December 5, 2015

The Caldecott Medal 2015

Since 1937, every year in the United States, the Caldecott Medal is awarded to the artist of the "most distinguished American picture book for children".  This award was named in honor of Randolf Caldecott, a nineteenth century English illustrator.

The 2015 winner is The Adventures of Beekle the Unimaginary Friend by Dan Santat.
Click for more information on this title
"This magical story begins on an island far away where an imaginary friend is born. He patiently waits his turn to be chosen by a real child, but when he is overlooked time and again, he sets off on an incredible journey to the bustling city, where he finally meets his perfect match and-at long last-is given his special name: Beekle.
Product Details
New York Times bestselling and award-winning author and illustrator Dan Santat combines classic storytelling with breathtaking art, creating an unforgettable tale about friendship, imagination, and the courage to find one's place in the world." - review on Good Reads

The Caldecott Honor books for 2015 are...
 Book cover: The Noisy Paint Box Book cover: Sam & Dave Dig a Hole
Book cover: Viva Frida Book cover: The Right Word Book cover: This One Summer

This week in library, the Grade 1 and 2 classes enjoyed It Could Always Be Worse  by Margaret Zemach.  It is a Caldecott Honor book from 1978.  We highly recommend it as a brilliant reminder that "attitude is the mind's paintbrush. It can colour every situation!"  Everyone benefits when we choose to be grateful rather than to complain.
Product Details
Click for more information on this title

Click for more information on this titleWe encourage all of our students to check out a Caldecott Medal winner the next time they are in the library.  Nothing beats curling up with a wonderful picture book!

For more information about this award, you can go to the ALA website, the Children's Books Guide, and Good Reads.

No comments:

Post a Comment